DEF151004 - No. 46

Session 2003-04, 15 October 2004

Call for Evidence

Call for Evidence


Call for Written Evidence Issued

The Defence Committee today issued a call for written evidence on Government proposals to harmonise law relating to each of the three Services. The proposals cover matters such as  military discipline, including courts-martial, grievance procedures and Boards of Inquiry.

Under the proposals the three Service Discipline Acts would replaced by a single Tri-Service Armed Forces Act. The Government plans to introduce a Tri-Service Armed Force Bill in the 2005-06 parliamentary session.

The basis of the inquiry is a memorandum submitted by the Ministry of Defence which sets out the key principles underlying the proposed legislation and provides an outline of the main policy proposals. The memorandum is available on the Defence Committee’s website

The Committee invites any interested parties to comment on the issues as outlined in the MoD’s memorandum.

Witnesses are invited to submit memoranda to the Committee before Monday 29 November 2004.  Witnesses who wish their memoranda to be treated in confidence should contact the Committee Clerk in advance.

Memoranda should generally be a maximum of 6 A4 pages in length with numbered paragraphs or pages.  Witnesses are requested to submit a single hard copy of their memorandum by post to the above address, together with an electronic version (in Word format) either by e-mail to (with the title of the inquiry in the subject heading) or on a disk accompanying the hard copy.  Witnesses who are unable to submit electronic versions of their submissions are respectfully requested to take particular care that their submissions are legible. 

All submissions should be final and complete; the Committee will not accept draft memoranda or subsequent amendments.  Memoranda submitted to the Committee must be kept confidential until published by the Committee.

The first evidence session for this inquiry will be on Wednesday 27 October 2004 when the Committee will hear about the plans for the Bill from Ministry of Defence officials.


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon Bruce George MP (Chairman), Mr Crispin Blunt MP, Mr James Cran MP, Mr David Crausby MP, Mike Gapes MP, Mr Mike Hancock CBE MP, Dai Havard MP, Mr Kevan Jones MP, Mr Frank Roy MP, Rachel Squire MP, Mr Peter Viggers MP.

2. Press Release: No. 46


Media Enquiries: Adele Brown, Tel 020 7219 0724 / 07711 155 722, email - 

Specific Committee Information:  Tel 020 7219 5745, email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: