Lessons of Iraq Inquiry

Portcullis image and link to site home page The UNITED KINGDOM PARLIAMENT
Advanced Search
Updated 14/11/03 15:01
Contact Us
Parliament Live
Committee Home Page
Reports and Publications
Future Meetings
Press Notices
Related Links
Contact Details

Future Evidence Sessions

The Committee has now arranged the following evidence sessions for the period up to Christmas. The witnesses will be Armed Forces personnel and officials from the MoD and other government departments. Further details will be announced in due course.

Wednesday 3 December 2003

3.00 pm

Committee Room 16

Oral evidence on the Maritime Component and Royal Marines

Wednesday 10 December 2003

3.00 pm

Committee Room 16

Oral evidence on Costs and Equipment Performance

Tuesday 16 December 2003

3.00 pm

Committee Room 15

Oral evidence on Information Operations

Wednesday 17 December 2003

3.00 pm

Committee Room 16

Oral evidence on (a) the Political/Military Interface; and (b) Post Conflit Planning

Written submissions on the Lessons of Iraq inquiry are still welcome and should be sent to the Clerk of the Committee, preferably in electronic format to:


Please include your full postal address together with the email).

Note: Rooms are subject to Change

Notes to Editors

1. The terms of reference of the inquiry are:

  • To examine the role of the UK Armed Forces in the major combat phase of the recent conflict in Iraq;

  • To explore how far lessons from previous operations and deployments, including in Afghanistan, were acted upon and implemented; and

  • To consider what lessons for the future may be drawn from Operation Telic

2. The transcripts of previous sessions are available at:


3. The membership of the Defence Committee is as follows:

Rt Hon Bruce George MP

(Walsall South) (Chairman

James Cran MP

(Beverley and Holderness)

David Crausby MP

(Bolton North East)

Mike Gapes MP

(Ilford South)

Mike Hancock CBE MP

(Portsmouth South)

Dai Havard MP

(Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney)

Gerald Howarth MP


Kevan Jones MP

(North Durham)

Frank Roy MP

(Motherwell Wishaw)

Rachel Squire MP

(Dunfermline West)

Peter Viggers MP


©  Parliamentary Copyright