DEF121203 - No. 3

Session 2003-04, 11 December 2003

Defence White Paper

Chairman's Comments


Commenting on the publication of the Government's Defence White Paper, Rt Hon Bruce George MP, Chairman of the Select Committee on Defence said:

“Understanding how our armed forces will operate in the future is central to the Defence Committee’s work. Our interest has led us to publish reports and recommendations on both the Strategic Defence Review (SDR) in 1998 and the New Chapter to the SDR earlier this year. We have awaited the publication of this long promised Defence White Paper with keen interest.

“As part of our continuing commitment and responsibility to scrutinise the Ministry of Defence, we will be looking at the White Paper in depth. Full details of our inquiry will be issued in the near future.”


1.Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon Bruce George MP (Chairman), Mr Crispin Blunt MP, Mr James Cran MP, Mr David Crausby MP, Mike Gapes MP, Mr Mike Hancock CBE MP, Dai Havard MP, Mr Kevan Jones MP, Mr Frank Roy MP, Rachel Squire MP, Peter Viggers MP

2.News Release: [PN3, 2003-4]


Media Enquiries: Adele Brown, Tel 020 7219 0724 / 07711 155 722, email - 

Specific Committee Information:  Tel 020 7219 6952, email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on