Defence Committee Press Notice

Session 2008-09, 21 January 2009

Evidence Session

Evidence Session

UK national security and resilience

Tuesday 27 January 2009

At 10.30 am in Committee Room 8, Palace of Westminster (room subject to change), oral evidence will be taken from:

  • General Sir David Richards KCB CBE DSO, Commander-in-Chief Land Forces, Ministry of Defence

At 11.30 am (approx)

  • Niki Tompkinson, Director, TRANSEC, Department for Transport
  • Chief Constable Bernard Hogan-Howe, Lead Officer for Maritime and Air Support Policing, Association of Chief Police Officers
  • Rod Johnson, Chief Coastguard, Maritime and Coastguard Agency
  • Brodie Clark, Head, Border Force, UK Border Agency


The Committee was nominated on 13 July 2005. The Defence Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Ministry of Defence and its associated public bodies.


Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589 / 07917 488 488, email:

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 5745, email:

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on