Defence Committee Press Notice

16 December 2008, Session 2008-09

National Security and Resilience


The House of Commons Defence Committee will continue its inquiry into the Defence Contribution to the UK's National Security and Resilience with a further evidence session on 27 January 2009, starting at 10.30am. It will hear from General Sir David Richards, Commander-in-Chief, Land Command, and from a panel of expert witnesses on maritime and other aspects of national security. This new evidence is being sought in the light of evidence given by Lord West of Spithead to the Committee on 21 October 2008 and the Government's response to the Ingram review. The session with General Richards has been rescheduled from 14 October 2008.

The Committee invites further written evidence from interested parties by 13 January 2009. Evidence should be sent to

The terms of reference for the Committee's inquiry were set out in Press Notice 37 of Session 2007-08:

€ What contribution the MoD makes to national security and resilience, and what resources are committed to delivering it;

€ What specific capabilities maritime, land and air forces provide for national security and resilience;

€ What the MoD understands to be the nature and scale of the threat to national security, and how it gathers information;

€ How the changing security agenda has affected Defence Planning Assumptions;

€ How the MoD cooperates with other Government departments and agencies both to determine and, when necessary, to deliver the military component of national security, and how that dialogue is organised.


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP (Chairman), Mr David S Borrow MP, Mr David Crausby MP, Linda Gilroy MP, Mr David Hamilton MP, Mr Mike Hancock MP, Mr Dai Havard MP, Mr Adam Holloway MP, Mr Bernard Jenkin MP, Mr Brian Jenkins MP, [Mr Kevan Jones MP], Robert Key MP, John Smith MP, Richard Younger-Ross MP


Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589 / 07917 488488, email -

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 5745, email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on