Defence Committee

Session 2007-08, 21 April 2008

Evidence Session

Recruitment and retention in the Armed Forces

Tuesday 22 April 2008

At 10.30 am in the Grimond room, Portcullis House (room subject to change), oral evidence will be taken from:

Ministry of Defence

Chris Baker OBE, Director General of Service Personnel Policy

Rear Admiral Charles Montgomery CBE, Naval Secretary, Chief of Staff (Personnel)

Major General Andrew Gregory, Deputy Adjutant General and Director General Service Conditions (Army)

Air Vice Marshal Simon Bryant CBE, Chief of Staff Personnel and Air Secretary

Major General Simon Lalor TD, Assistant Chief of Defence Staff (Reserves and Cadets)

Vice Admiral Peter Wilkinson CVO, Deputy Chief of Defence Staff (Personnel)


The Committee was nominated on 13 July 2005. The Defence Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Ministry of Defence and its associated public bodies.


Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589, 07917 488 488, email: 

Specific Committee Information:  Tel 020 7219 5745, email:

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on