def070621 - No. 58

Session 2006-07, 21 June 2007

Announcement: Evidence Session

Announcement: Evidence Session

UK operations in Iraq Inquiry

The Defence Committee is today beginning an inquiry into UK operations in Iraq. The inquiry is considering the political and security situation in Iraq, the progress in implementing security sector reform, including the development of the Iraqi army and police, and the prospects for further transition to Provincial Iraqi Control. It is also examining the future of UK Forces in Iraq and is considering equipment issues facing troops in theatre, including whether the equipment issues highlighted  in the Committee’s last report on Iraq, published in August 2006, have been adequately addressed.

Tuesday 26 June 2007

At 10.30 am in the Grimond Room, Portcullis House ( room subject to change, see further information note below), oral evidence will be taken from:

  • Dr Ali Ansari, University of St Andrews

  • Dr Toby Dodge, Queen Mary College, University of London

  • Dr Eric Herring, University of Bristol

  • Dr Glen Rangwala, University of Cambridge

  • Professor Sami Zubaida, Birkbeck College, University of London

At 12 noon

  • Mr Nadhim Zahawi, Joint CEO, YouGov


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP (Chairman), Mr David S Borrow MP, Mr David Crausby MP, Linda Gilroy MP, Mr David Hamilton MP, Mr Mike Hancock MP, Mr Dai Havard MP, Mr Adam Holloway MP, Mr Bernard Jenkin MP, Mr Brian Jenkins MP, Mr Kevan Jones MP, Robert Key MP, Willie Rennie MP, John Smith MP

2. News Release: No. 58


Those wishing to attend should check the venue by calling the committee office information line the day before the hearing on 020 7219 2033.

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589 / 07917 488488, email -

Specific Committee Information:  Tel 020 7219 5745, email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on