def070608 - No. 55

Session 2006-07, 8 June 2007

Evidence Session

Medical Care for the Armed Forces

The Defence Committee web forum, a key part of its inquiry into Medical Care for the Armed Forces, is being extended until Monday 18 June.

Tuesday 12 June 2007

At 10.30 am in the Grimond Room, Portcullis House (room subject to change, see further information note below), oral evidence will be taken from:

Welfare Organisations

  • Ms Sammie Crane, Chief Executive, Army Families Federation

  • Commodore Toby Elliott RN, Chief Executive, Ex-Services Mental Welfare Society (Combat Stress)

  • Air Commodore Edward Jarron, Secretary-General, Royal Air Forces Association

  • Ms Sue Freeth, Director Welfare, The Royal British Legion

  • Mrs Elizabeth Sheldon, Deputy Controller, Soldiers, Sailors, Airmen and Families Association

The purpose of this inquiry is to look at:

  • Healthcare for Service personnel, both at home and overseas, and the arrangements for those returning from overseas postings;

  • Medical support for operations, including the treatment of injured personnel-from immediate treatment in the theatre of operations to after-care in the UK-and the facilities provided for them;

  • How medical services for the Armed Forces are delivered, and in particular how the Ministry of Defence engages with the National Health Service to provide healthcare. The MoD has already entered into some arrangements with NHS providers, and extending these partnerships is one option for the future.


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP (Chairman), Mr David S Borrow MP, Mr David Crausby MP, Linda Gilroy MP, Mr David Hamilton MP, Mr Mike Hancock MP, Mr Dai Havard MP, Mr Adam Holloway MP, Mr Bernard Jenkin MP, Mr Brian Jenkins MP, Mr Kevan Jones MP, Robert Key MP, Willie Rennie MP, John Smith MP

2. News Release: No. 55


Those wishing to attend should check the venue by calling the committee office information line the day before the hearing on 020 7219 2033.

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589 / 07917 488488, email -

Specific Committee Information:  Tel 020 7219 5745, email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on