def070516 - No. 52

Session 2006-07, 16 May 2007

Launch of web forum

Defence Committee launches web forum on Armed Forces medical care

Service personnel, their families and healthcare professionals are invited to take part in a web-based forum with Members of the House of Commons Defence Committee at the start of its inquiry into Medical Care for the Armed Forces.

The aim of the inquiry is to examine the issues related to Service medical care, in order to make recommendations to the Ministry of Defence. The three main areas the Committee will look at are:

  •  Healthcare for Service personnel, both at home and overseas, and the arrangements for those returning from overseas postings;

  • Medical support for operations, including the treatment of injured personnel-from immediate treatment in the theatre of operations to after-care in the UK-and the facilities provided for them;

  •  How medical services for the Armed Forces are delivered, and in particular how the Ministry of Defence engages with the National Health Service to provide healthcare. The MoD has already entered into some arrangements with NHS providers, and extending these partnerships is one option for the future.

Chairman of the Defence Committee, the Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP, says, “We want to get the views of people with direct experience of Armed Forces medical care in order to point us in the right direction in our inquiry into the Defence Medical Services. We hope this forum will help us ask the right questions and generate ideas for recommendations that we can make to the Ministry of Defence.”

Written evidence will also be taken and oral evidence sessions will be held by the Committee. Details will be announced in due course.

Anyone who wants to participate in the forum should go to:


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP (Chairman), Mr David S Borrow MP, Mr David Crausby MP, Linda Gilroy MP, Mr David Hamilton MP, Mr Mike Hancock MP, Mr Dai Havard MP, Mr Adam Holloway MP, Mr Bernard Jenkin MP, Mr Brian Jenkins MP, Mr Kevan Jones MP, Robert Key MP, Willie Rennie MP, John Smith MP

2. News Release: No. 52


Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589/ 07917 488488,

email - 

Specific Committee Information:  Tel 020 7219 5745, email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on