def070427 - No. 47

Session 2006-07,  27 April 2007

Publication of Special Report


The House of Commons Defence Committee today publishes the Government’s Response to the Committee’s report on The Defence Industrial Strategy: update (Eighth Special Report of Session 2006-07, The Defence Industrial Strategy: update: Government Response to the Committee’s Sixth Report of Session 2006-07, HC 481).

The Committee’s report had acknowledged the good progress in implementing the Defence Industrial Strategy in 2006, but had highlighted the maritime sector as the area where progress had been slow. The Government Response shares the Committee’s frustration at the slow progress in this sector, but states that it is working hard with its industrial partners to achieve the required restructuring.

The Committee had been concerned to hear reports that the Future Carrier programme might be cancelled because of budgetary pressures. The Government Response confirms that it “remains fully committed to the Carrier programme”.

The Committee had welcomed the signature of the Memorandum of Understanding covering production, sustainment and follow-on development on the Joint Strike Fighter programme and the assurance provided by the Minister of Defence Procurement that the UK would get all the technology transfer it required from the United States to operate the aircraft independently; but had expressed concerns as to how things would work out in practice. The Government Response states that it “intends to monitor progress with the US very closely before committing to purchase aircraft”.

The Rt Hon James Arbuthnot, Chairman of the Defence Committee, says “I welcome the Government’s response to our report. Good progress was made in implementing the Defence Industrial Strategy in 2006, but it will be important for the MoD to continue to work closely with its industrial partners to ensure that the required restructuring of the maritime sector is undertaken as soon as possible. The Defence Committee will continue to monitor these matters closely”.


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP (Chairman), Mr David S Borrow MP, Mr David Crausby MP, Linda Gilroy MP, Mr David Hamilton MP, Mr Mike Hancock MP, Mr Dai Havard MP, Mr Adam Holloway MP, Mr Bernard Jenkin MP, Mr Brian Jenkins MP, Mr Kevan Jones MP, Robert Key MP, Willie Rennie MP, John Smith MP

2. The Committee’s report is available at

3. News Release: No. 47


Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589/ 07917 488488, email -

Specific Committee Information:  Tel 020 7219 5745, email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on