def070424 - No.46

Session 2006-07, 24 April 2007

New Inquiry


The Defence Committee intends to take evidence on the work of Defence Estates, as part of the Committee’s programme of scrutiny of the Ministry of Defence’s Agencies. Rear Admiral Timothy Laurence, who takes up the post of Chief Executive of Defence Estates at the end of this month, will give evidence to the Committee on Tuesday 15 May.

The Committee will consider the full range of responsibilities of Defence Estates, particularly in terms of housing for Service personnel, estate rationalisation and the administration of Private Finance Initiative (PFI) projects.

The Committee would welcome written evidence on these issues in advance of the evidence session. This should be sent to the Clerk of the Defence Committee by Friday 4 May.


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP (Chairman), Mr David S Borrow MP, Mr David Crausby MP, Linda Gilroy MP, Mr David Hamilton MP, Mr Mike Hancock MP, Mr Dai Havard MP, Mr Adam Holloway MP, Mr Bernard Jenkin MP, Mr Brian Jenkins MP, Mr Kevan Jones MP, Robert Key MP, Willie Rennie MP, John Smith MP

2. News Release: No. 46


Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589/ 07917 488488,

email - 

Specific Committee Information:  Tel 020 7219 5745, email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on