def070328 - No. 43

Session 2006-07, 28 March 2007

New Inquiry

New Inquiry

Defence Committee inquiry into Medical Care for the Armed Forces

Members of the Armed Forces and their families will be invited to take part in an Internet-based forum as the start of the Defence Committee’s inquiry into Medical care for the Armed Forces. The web forum will be launched in April and will provide the Committee with information which will feed into the rest of the inquiry. Details will be announced after Easter.

The inquiry will include the following issues:

  • Healthcare for Service personnel, both at home and overseas, and the arrangements for those returning from overseas postings;

  • Medical support for operations, including the treatment of injured personnel-from immediate treatment in the theatre of operations to after-care in the UK-and the facilities provided for them;

  • How medical services for the Armed Forces are delivered, and in particular how the Ministry of Defence engages with the National Health Service to provide healthcare. The MoD has already entered into some arrangements with NHS providers, and extending these partnerships is one option for the future.

The Committee would welcome written evidence on these matters. This should be sent to the Clerk of the Defence Committee by Monday 14 May.

The Committee intends to hold oral evidence sessions beginning in June. Further details and witnesses will be announced in due course.


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP (Chairman), Mr David S Borrow MP, Mr David Crausby MP, Linda Gilroy MP, Mr David Hamilton MP, Mr Mike Hancock MP, Mr Dai Havard MP, Mr Adam Holloway MP, Mr Bernard Jenkin MP, Mr Brian Jenkins MP, Mr Kevan Jones MP, Robert Key MP, Willie Rennie MP, John Smith MP

2. News Release: No. 43


Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589/ 07917 488488, email - 

Specific Committee Information:  Tel 020 7219 5745, email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on