def070308 - No. 37

Session 2006-07, 8 March 2007

Evidence Session

Evidence Session

MPs to quiz former senior officers on Defence Resources

Following its evidence session this week with the Chief of the Defence Staff, the House of Commons Defence Committee will next week be taking evidence from former senior Service personnel and academic commentators as part of its inquiry into UK Defence: Commitments and Resources.

The Committee will be meeting on Tuesday 13 March at 9.30 am in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House ( room subject to change, see further information note below), with oral evidence from:

At 9.30 am

  • Professor Sir Lawrence Freedman (Professor of War Studies, King's College, London)

At 10.00 am

  • Air Chief Marshal Sir Brian Burridge (formerly Commander-in-Chief Strike Command)

  • Vice Admiral Sir Tim McClement (formerly Deputy Commander in Chief Fleet)

  • Major General Andrew Ritchie (formerly Commander Army 4th Division and Commandant of the Royal Military Academy Sandhurst)

At 11.00 am

  • Michael Codner (Director of Military Sciences, RUSI)

  • Professor Keith Hartley (Director, Centre for Defence Economics, University of York)

The deadline for written evidence to the inquiry has been extended to the end of March.


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP (Chairman), Mr David S Borrow MP, Mr David Crausby MP, Linda Gilroy MP, Mr David Hamilton MP, Mr Mike Hancock MP, Mr Dai Havard MP, Mr Adam Holloway MP, Mr Bernard Jenkin MP, Mr Brian Jenkins MP, Mr Kevan Jones MP, Robert Key MP, Willie Rennie MP, John Smith MP

2. News Release: No. 37


Those wishing to attend should check the venue by calling the committee office information line the day before the hearing on 020 7219 2033.

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589 / 07917 488488, email -

Specific Committee Information:  Tel 020 7219 5745, email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on