def061107 - No. 76

Session 2005-06, 7 November 2006

Publication of Report

Publication of Report


As MPs meet today to consider the Lords Amendments to the Armed Forces Bill, the House of Commons Defence Committee publishes a report highlighting concerns about the Government’s proposal for a Complaints Commissioner for the Armed Forces (14th Report, Armed Forces Bill: the proposal for a Service Complaints Commissioner, HC 1711).

The Committee welcomes the proposal to establish a Commissioner - brought forward by the Government in response to the Deepcut Review and pressure from Parliament. But it says it falls short of the independent investigatory body that the Committee recommended in the last Parliament. The Services Complaints Commissioner will have to pass on complaints received from Service personnel or their families to the relevant commanding officer for investigation.

The report states that much of the detail of the new complaints procedure will be left to secondary legislation. The Committee plans to monitor this closely.


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP (Chairman), Mr David S Borrow MP, Mr David Crausby MP, Linda Gilroy MP, Mr David Hamilton MP, Mr Mike Hancock MP, Mr Dai Havard MP, Mr Adam Holloway MP, Mr Brian Jenkins MP, Mr Kevan Jones MP, Robert Key MP, Mr Mark Lancaster MP, Willie Rennie MP, John Smith MP

2. News Release: No. 76


Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589 / 07997 488488, email -

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 5745, email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on