Defence Committee: press notice 69, 2005-06

7 September 2006

Operational Note


The Defence Committee intends to take evidence on the work of the Defence Science and Technology Laboratory (DSTL), as part of the Committee's programme of scrutiny of the Ministry of Defence's Agencies. A date will be announced in due course.

As well as scrutinising the management and performance of DSTL, the Committee will consider how DSTL's role will be affected by the Defence Industrial Strategy and by the Defence Technology Strategy which is expected to be published in the Autumn.

The Committee would welcome written evidence on these issues in advance of the evidence session. This should be sent to the Clerk of the Defence Committee by Friday 10 November.


1. The Committee has already announced that it plans to inquire into the progress made in implementing the DIS and whether it is delivering the expected benefits: See attached News Release No. 58 (14 July 2006).

2. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP (Chairman), Mr David S Borrow MP, Mr Mr David Crausby MP, Linda Gilroy MP, Mr David Hamilton MP, Mr Mike Hancock MP, Mr Dai Havard MP, Mr Adam Holloway MP, Mr Brian Jenkins MP, Mr Kevan Jones MP, Robert Key MP, Mr Mark Lancaster MP, Willie Rennie MP, John Smith MP

3. News Release No. 69


Submissions should be in Word or rich text format and sent by e-mail to The body of the e-mail must include a contact name, telephone number and postal address. The e-mail should also make clear who the submission is from.

Submissions should be as brief as possible, and paragraphs should be numbered for ease of reference. Longer documents should include an executive summary.

Committees make public much of the evidence they receive during inquiries. If you do not wish your submission to be published, you must clearly say so. If you wish to include private or confidential information in your submission to the Committee, please contact the Clerk of the Committee to discuss this.

Personal information, such as address and contact details, should be provided separately from the body of your submission. You should be aware that there may be circumstances in which the House of Commons will be required to communicate information to third parties on request, in order to comply with its obligations under the Freedom of Information Act 2000.

Submissions should be original work, not previously published or circulated elsewhere. Once submitted, no public use should be made of the submission unless you have first obtained permission from the Clerk of the Committee.


Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, Tel 020 7219 0724 / 07841 737 349,

email -

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 5745, email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on