Defence Committee: press notice

14 July 2006

Publication of Government Response on The Defence Industrial Strategy

The Defence Committee will be publishing its Eighth Special Report of Session 2005-06, The Defence Industrial Strategy: Government Response to the Committee's Seventh Report of Session 2005-06, (HC 1488), on Friday 14 July at 11.00 am.

The Committee's Seventh Report on The Defence Industrial Strategy, was published on 10 May 2006 as HC 824

The Government Response includes a summary of progress on significant Defence Industrial Strategy (DIS) milestones as at 7 July 2006.

The DIS was published on 15 December 2005. At the end of the year, the Committee plans to inquire into the progress made in implementing the DIS and whether it is delivering the expected benefits.

The Committee would welcome written evidence on these matters. This should be sent to the Clerk of the Defence Committee by Friday 17 November 2006.

The Committee plans to hold oral evidence sessions in December. Further details of witnesses will be announced in due course.


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP (Chairman), Mr David S Borrow MP, Mr David Crausby MP, Linda Gilroy MP, Mr David Hamilton MP, Mr Mike Hancock MP, Mr Dai Havard MP, Mr Adam Holloway MP, Mr Brian Jenkins MP, Mr Kevan Jones MP, Robert Key MP, Mr Mark Lancaster MP, Willie Rennie MP, John Smith MP

2. News Release: No. 58


Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, Tel 020 7219 0724 / 07917 488 477,

email -

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 5745, email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on