def060614 - No. 49

Session 2005-06, 14 June 2006

Publication of Sixth Special Report

Publication of Sixth Special Report

Publication of Government Response on The UK deployment to Afghanistan

The Defence Committee will be publishing its Sixth Special Report of Session 2005-06, The UK deployment to Afghanistan: Government Response to the Committee’s Fifth Report of Session 2005-06, (HC 1211), on Thursday 15 June at 11.00 am.

The Committee’s Fifth Report on The UK deployment to Afghanistan, was published on 6 April 2006 as HC 558.


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP (Chairman), Mr David S Borrow MP, Mr David Crausby MP, Linda Gilroy MP, Mr David Hamilton MP, Mr Mike Hancock MP, Mr Dai Havard MP, Mr Adam Holloway MP, Mr Brian Jenkins MP, Mr Kevan Jones MP, Robert Key MP, Mr Mark Lancaster MP, Willie Rennie MP, John Smith MP

2. News Release: No. 49


Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, Tel 020 7219 0724 / 07917 488 477, email - 

Specific Committee Information:  Tel 020 7219 5745, email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on