def060310 - No. 26

Session 2005-06, 10 March 2006

Operational Note

Operational Note

Educating Service Children

The Defence Committee has decided to hold an inquiry into the education of children of Service personnel. The inquiry will focus on the provision of education in Service schools overseas and the performance of the Ministry of Defence’s Agency, Service Children’s Education, but it will also consider the issues facing children and young people when they return to education in the UK and the schooling, and assistance with schooling, which MoD provides in the UK.

The Committee hopes to obtain the views of those with direct experience of Service education: teachers, Service families and young people who are attending or have attended Service schools. Written submissions, setting out views and highlighting particular issues encountered, should be sent to the Clerk of the Defence Committee by Wednesday 19 April.

During the course of the inquiry, the Committee intends to conduct a web-based consultation to seek people’s views in an interactive manner. Details will be announced shortly.

The Committee plans to hold oral evidence sessions after Easter. Further details and witnesses will be announced in due course.


1. Service Children’s Education (an MoD Agency) provides schooling facilities for pupils in Belize, Brunei, Cyprus, Denmark, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Italy, Belgium, Holland and Germany. SCE are also responsible for the provision of help and advice to Service and Ministry of Defence personnel’s families about to be posted overseas or returning to the UK from abroad. Information can be found at

2. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP (Chairman), Mr David S Borrow MP, Mr Colin Breed MP, Mr David Crausby MP, Linda Gilroy MP, Mr David Hamilton MP, Mr Mike Hancock MP, Mr Dai Havard MP, Mr Adam Holloway MP, Mr Brian Jenkins MP, Mr Kevan Jones MP, Robert Key MP, Mr Mark Lancaster MP, John Smith MP

3. News Release No. 26


Submissions should be in Word or rich text format and sent by e-mail to The body of the e-mail must include a contact name, telephone number and postal address. The e-mail should also make clear who the submission is from. Those without access to e-mail are welcome to send in submissions by post.

Submissions should be as brief as possible, and paragraphs should be numbered for ease of reference. Longer documents should include an executive summary.

Committees make public much of the evidence they receive during inquiries. If you do not wish your submission to be published, you must clearly say so. If you wish to include private or confidential information in your submission to the Committee, please contact the Clerk of the Committee to discuss this.

Personal information, such as address and contact details, should be provided separately from the body of your submission. You should be aware that there may be circumstances in which the House of Commons will be required to communicate information to third parties on request, in order to comply with its obligations under the Freedom of Information Act 2000.

Submissions should be original work, not previously published or circulated elsewhere. Once submitted, no public use should be made of the submission unless you have first obtained permission from the Clerk of the Committee.


Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, Tel 020 7219 0724 / 07841 737 349, email -

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 5745, email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on