def060308 - No. 25

Session 2005-06, 8 March 2006

Evidence Sessions

Evidence Sessions


The Committee will be holding three sessions of oral evidence as part of its inquiry into the future of the Strategic Nuclear Deterrent: the Strategic Nuclear Context.

The first will be on Tuesday 14 March in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House (room subject to change), with oral evidence taken from:

At 10.30am

  • Mr Michael Codner, Director of Military Sciences, Royal United Services Institute (RUSI)

  • Kate Hudson, Chair, Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament, UK (CND)

  • Dr Rebecca Johnson, Executive Director, Acronym Institute for Disarmament Diplomacy

  • Dan Plesch, Senior Associate, The Foreign Policy Centre

  • Sir Michael Quinlan, Consulting Senior Fellow, International Institute of Strategic Studies (IISS)

  • Dr Lee Willett, Head of Military Capabilities Programme, Military Sciences Department, Royal United Services Institute (RUSI)   

Further evidence sessions will be held on Tuesday 21 March and Tuesday 28 March, also at 10.3O am.   Details of witnesses will be announced next week.


1. The Committee has announced that it will hold a series of inquiries over the course of the current Parliament into the future of the UK’s strategic nuclear deterrent.  The first inquiry will focus on the strategic context and the timetable for decision making.  It will consider the threats which the strategic nuclear deterrent is currently intended to combat and how this context might change over the next two decades.  It will consider what other states or organisations could develop nuclear weapons capabilities by 2025, and how this might affect the strategic context in which decisions on the UK deterrent will be made.  And it will consider the timetable in which these decisions will have to be taken and implemented.  See operational note of 20 January 2006:

2. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP (Chairman), Mr David S Borrow MP, Mr Colin Breed MP, Mr David Crausby MP, Linda Gilroy MP, Mr David Hamilton MP, Mr Mike Hancock MP, Mr Dai Havard MP, Mr Adam Holloway MP, Mr Brian Jenkins MP, Mr Kevan Jones MP, Robert Key MP, Mr Mark Lancaster MP, John Smith MP.

3. News Release: No. 25


Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, Tel 020 7219 0724 / 07917 488 477, email - 

Specific Committee Information:  Tel 020 7219 5745, email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on