DEF051012 - No. 5

Session 2005-06, 12 October 2005

Evidence Sessions

Evidence Sessions


The Ministry of Defence is planning to acquire two aircraft carriers which are expected to enter service in 2012 and 2015. The Short Take Off and Vertical Landing variant of the Joint Strike Fighter has been selected as the aircraft to operate from the carriers.  The Defence Committee intends to examine the progress being made on these two key programmes. The Future Carrier programme is to be run under an 'Alliance' arrangement, and the Committee will examine the progress in finalising these arrangements and the role of the Alliance partners. The Committee will also examine the progress being made towards achieving approval for the Future Carrier programme to proceed to the Demonstration and Manufacture stage. On the Joint Strike Fighter programme the Committee will examine the progress made in resolving weight issues on the aircraft and issues regarding UK access to technology.

On Tuesday 18 October oral evidence will be taken from:

At 10.30 am

Future Carrier Programme

  • Mr John Coles CB, Ministry of Defence

  • Mr Allan Cameron, Thales UK

  • Mr Chris Geoghegan, BAE SYSTEMS

  • Mr Tony Pryor CBE, Kellogg, Brown and Root

At approximately 11.45 am

Joint Combat Aircraft Programme

  • Commodore Simon Henley MBE RN, Ministry of Defence

  • Mr Tom Burbage, Lockheed Martin

  • Mr Nigel Whitehead, BAE SYSTEMS

On Tuesday 25 October oral evidence will be taken from:

At 10.30 am

  • Lord Drayson, Minister of Defence Procurement, Ministry of Defence

  • Sir Peter Spencer KCB, Chief of Defence Procurement, Ministry of Defence


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP (Chairman), Mr David S Borrow MP, Mr Colin Breed MP, Derek Conway MP, Mr David Crausby MP, Linda Gilroy MP, Mr David Hamilton MP, Mr Mike Hancock MP, Mr Dai Havard MP, Mr Brian Jenkins MP, Mr Kevan Jones MP, Robert Key MP, John Smith MP, Mr Desmond Swayne MP

2. News Release: No. 05


Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, Tel 020 7219 0724 / 07711 155 722, Email - 

Specific Committee Information:  Tel 020 7219 5745, email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on