DEF050714 - No. 01

Session 2005-06, 14 July 2005

Operational Note

Operational Note


The following Members of Parliament were appointed by the House of Commons to the Defence Committee on 13 July:

  • Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP (North East Hampshire)

  • Mr David S Borrow (South Ribble)

  • Mr Colin Breed (South East Cornwall)

  • Derek Conway (Old Bexley and Sidcup)

  • Mr David Crausby (Bolton North East)

  • Linda Gilroy (Plymouth Sutton)

  • Mr David Hamilton (Midlothian)

  • Mr Mike Hancock (Portsmouth South)

  • Mr Dai Havard (Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney)

  • Mr Brian Jenkins (Tamworth)

  • Mr Kevan Jones (Durham North)

  • Robert Key (Salisbury)

  • John Smith (Vale of Glamorgan)

  • Mr Desmond Swayne (New Forest West)


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Mr James Arbuthnot, Mr David S Borrow, Mr Colin Breed, Derek Conway, Mr David Crausby, Linda Gilroy, Mr David Hamilton, Mr Mike Hancock, Mr Dai Havard, Mr Brian Jenkins, Mr Kevan Jones, Robert Key, John Smith, Mr Desmond Swayne

2. News Release: No. 01


Media Enquiries: Adele Brown, Tel 020 7219 0724 / 07711 155 722, email - 

Specific Committee Information:  Tel 020 7219 5745, email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on