Defence Committee

21 June 2006

Attn: [ News Desks / Forward Planning /

Political / Defence Correspondents ]


The House of Commons Defence Committee's annual inquiry into defence procurement will this year focus on smaller-sized projects.

The largest defence equipment projects are examined on a regular basis by the Defence Committee, and by the National Audit Office in its annual Major Projects Report. The focus of the Committee's inquiry this year is the progress of the smaller-sized defence equipment projects that have not been subject to regular scrutiny. The Committee is examining four projects, each with a forecast cost of between £50 million - £100 million:

€ General Service Respirator

€ ASUW Littoral Defensive Anti Surface Warfare

€ Maritime Composite Training System Phase 1

€ Thermal Sighting System for the Self Propelled High Velocity Missile Weapon System

Oral evidence: Tuesday 27 June

The Committee is holding an oral evidence session on 27 June with the MoD officials responsible for overseeing these four projects. At 10.30 am in the Wilson Room, Portcullis House (room subject to change) oral evidence will be taken from the MoD officials responsible for overseeing these four projects.

€ Dr Iain Watson, Operations Director for Information Superiority

€ Dr Andrew Tyler, Director, Land and Maritime

€ Mr Jonathan Lyle, Director, Air and Weapons Systems

A further oral evidence session is to be held on 17 October with the Chief of Defence Procurement, head of the Defence Procurement Agency (DPA). At this session, the Committee will also examine the DPA's performance against its Key Targets.

Written evidence

The Committee would welcome evidence on the matters being examined. This should be sent to the Clerk of the Defence Committee by Friday 8 September 2006.


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon James Arbuthnot MP (Chairman), Mr David S Borrow MP, Mr David Crausby MP, Linda Gilroy MP, Mr David Hamilton MP, Mr Mike Hancock MP, Mr Dai Havard MP, Mr Adam Holloway MP, Mr Brian Jenkins MP, Mr Kevan Jones MP, Robert Key MP, Mr Mark Lancaster MP, Willie Rennie MP, John Smith MP

2. News Release: No. 51


Submissions should be in Word or rich text format and sent by e-mail to The body of the e-mail must include a contact name, telephone number and postal address. The e-mail should also make clear who the submission is from.

Submissions should be as brief as possible, and paragraphs should be numbered for ease of reference. Longer documents should include an executive summary.

Committees make public much of the evidence they receive during inquiries. If you do not wish your submission to be published, you must clearly say so. If you wish to include private or confidential information in your submission to the Committee, please contact the Clerk of the Committee to discuss this.

Personal information, such as address and contact details, should be provided separately from the body of your submission. You should be aware that there may be circumstances in which the House of Commons will be required to communicate information to third parties on request, in order to comply with its obligations under the Freedom of Information Act 2000.

Submissions should be original work, not previously published or circulated elsewhere. Once submitted, no public use should be made of the submission unless you have first obtained permission from the Clerk of the Committee.


Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges-Palmer, Tel 020 7219 0724 / 07917 488 447, email -

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 5745, email -

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on