5 March 2004, Session 2003-04

Further call for evidence on new clause 15

Revised programme of meetings

Revised programme of meetings

This press notice invites brief written evidence on the new clause 15 (deadline Tuesday 23 March), and sets out the Committee's revised programme of meetings.


The two Houses of Parliament have established a Joint Committee on the Draft Disability Discrimination Bill (Cm 6058) which was published by the Government on 3 December 2003.  The remit of the Committee is to consider the draft bill, and to report on it to both Houses. The Committee will prepare a report making recommendations (to which the Government must respond) by 30 April 2004.

The Committee issued its first call for evidence on 26 January. This, and other information about the Committee, is available on our web pages:


Further call for evidence on new clause 15

The Government have now published a further clause, "Clause 15: relationships between locally-electable authorities and their members" (Cm 6126). The Government have posted the clause on the internet. They have also provided an illustrative version of the DDA 1995 as it would look if it were amended by the draft bill. Both can be found via the Committee's web pages.

The Committee invites brief written evidence on the new clause 15, by Tuesday 23 March.


Instructions for written evidence

We wish to receive written evidence, if possible, in MS Word or rich text format, by e-mail to scrutiny@parliament.uk.  A single hard copy should also be sent to:

Claudia Rock
Committee Office
House of Lords SW1A 0PW

Tel 020-7219 8675.

If you would find it difficult to submit evidence in this way, please do not hesitate to contact us to discuss alternatives.

Once written evidence has been submitted it becomes the property of the Committee. Those who have submitted written evidence to the Joint Committee are welcome to publish their evidence themselves (for example, by placing it on their own website), provided that it is not published until after the Joint Committee has acknowledged receipt of the evidence and that it is made clear that the document was prepared as evidence to the Joint Committee. Written evidence will wherever possible be posted on the Committee's web pages, and then either be published by the Committee with its final Report or placed in the public domain when that Report is published.

Membership of the Committee

Miss Anne Begg MP (Aberdeen South)
Mr Roger Berry MP (Kingswood)
Rt Hon Tom Clarke CBE MP (Coatbridge and Chryston)
Mr Paul Goodman MP (Wycombe)
Tom Levitt MP (High Peak)
Mr Roger Williams MP (Brecon and Radnorshire)
The Lord Addington
Rt Hon the Lord Carter (Chairman)
The Lord Rix, CBE, DL
The Lord Swinfen
Rt Hon the Lord Tebbit
The Baroness Wilkins