Culture, Media and Sport Committee

Session 2005-06

14 July 2005


Mr John Whittingdale was elected as Chairman of the Committee at its first meeting today.  He said after the meeting:

"I have had a long-standing interest in issues covered by the Department of Culture, Media and Sport and am delighted to have been elected Chairman of the Select Committee. The Committee has a number of members with considerable experience in the areas for which the Department has responsibility and I am confident that we will be able to do an effective job in scrutinising the Government's performance.

Many of the Department's responsibilities are of great importance to the public such as Tourism, Licensing, Gambling and the Arts, Heritage and Creative industries. As well as scrutinising Government performance in these areas, the Committee will also want to focus in particular on preparations for the Olympic Games in 2012 and the planned switch-off of analogue television broadcasting starting in 2008."

A further press notice will be issued next week announcing a programme of inquiries.

The membership of the Committee is:

Mr John Whittingdale OBE MP
(Con, Maldon and East Chelmsford)
Janet Anderson MP
(Lab, Rossendale and Darwen)
Mr Nigel Evans MP (Con, Ribble Valley)
Paul Farrelly MP (Lab, Newcastle-under-Lyme)
Mr Mike Hall MP (Lab, Weaver Vale)
Alan Keen MP (Lab, Feltham and Heston)
Rosemary McKenna MP  (Lab, Cumbernauld and Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East)
Adam Price MP (Plaid Cymru, Carmarthen East and Dinefwr)
Mr Adrian Sanders MP (Lib Dem, Torbay)
Helen Southworth MP (Lab, Warrington South)
Mr Tim Yeo MP (Con, South Suffolk)

For information:

CMS Committee publications, including press notices and Reports, can be found through our homepage:
Select committee reports are published and distributed by The Stationery Office (0845 7 023474 & 0870 600 5522)

The Committee has some new staff.  The full team now looks like this:
Kenneth Fox, Committee Clerk (x6120)
Ian Cameron, Second Clerk (x6924)
Grahame Danby, Inquiry Manager (x4311)
Anita Fuki, Committee Assistant (x5739)
Rowena Macdonald, Committe Secretary (x6188)
Jonathan Coe, Office Support (x0732)
Luke Robinson, Media Officer (x8895)

The regular meeting time for the CMS Committee will be Tuesday mornings (10.15am). Recorded information about the times and topics of the meetings of all House of Commons committees is available on 020 7219 2033 (tone-dialling required).  This serviceCupdated dailyCcovers select and standing committee meetings occurring over the next two sitting days.  To make a general inquiry in person, ring 020 7219 3267 / 4300.