Select Committee on the Crossrail Bill

Publication of Report
Crossrail Bill

The First Special Report of the Crossrail Bill Committee, Session 2006-07, on the Crossrail Bill, HC 235-I, is to be published on Tuesday 23 October 2007 at 9.30 a.m.

The Report explains the decisions and recommendations the Select Committee on the Crossrail Bill has made after sitting in public for 84 days of hearings and considering the cases presented on 205 of the 457 petitions deposited against the Crossrail Bill and against the 4 sets of additional provisions deposited by the Government.

Alan Meale MP, Chairman of the Select Committee, said today: " This report is the culmination of twenty-two months hard work. My Committee sat up to three times a day to ensure that it could hear all the concerns of those who petitioned against the Bill. The Select Committee hearings followed a quasi-judicial procedure which allowed us to listen to the cases of people directly affected by the Crossrail Bill and amend the Bill to further protect them if we judged this necessary.

" We were pleased that the Secretary of State followed the request of the Committee and brought forward the necessary amendments to build a station at Woolwich and in the Report we reiterate our view that the station at this site is and must remain central to the project."

The Crossrail Bill, will now be re-committed to a Public Bill Committee. Report stage and third reading take the same form as all other public bills. The Bill is then sent to the House of Lords where there is a further opportunity for objectors to petition and to appear before a select committee.

There will be no press conference. Broadcasters wishing to interview the Chairman, or other Members of the Committee should contact the Select Committee Media Officer Laura Kibby on 020 7219 0718 or 07917 488 557.

The Report will be available to the press, Government Departments and those who petitioned the Crossrail Bill, from Reception, 7 Millbank, the Press Gallery, House of Commons or via email on request from Copies will be made available from 10.30 a.m. on Tuesday 23 October 2007. All Petitioners will be sent a copy of the Report.

Notes to editors

Media representatives who want further information should contact Select Committee Media Officer Laura Kibby on 020 7219 0718 or 07917 488 557.

Select Committee on the Crossrail Bill, First Special Report of Session 2006-07 (HC 235-I) 23 October 2007

Members of the Committee: Mr Alan Meale (Chairman) (Mansfield), Mr Brian Binley (Northampton South), Ms Katy Clark (North Ayrshire and Arran), Mr Philip Hollobone (Kettering), Kelvin Hopkins (Luton North), Mrs Siân ⮠C. James (Swansea East), Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger (Bridgwater), John Pugh (Southport), Mrs Linda Riordan (Halifax), and Sir Peter Soulsby Leicester South.

Press Notice 02/2006-07 22 October 2007