Constitutional Affairs Committee

Press Notice 12 of Session 2006-07, 21 February 2007


The Constitutional Role of the Attorney General

The Committee will hold its final evidence session for its inquiry into The Constitutional Role of the Attorney General.

Details of the oral evidence session are as follows:

Wednesday 28 February in Committee Room 8, House of Commons

At 4.15 pm: Lord Morris of Aberavon KG, QC and Lord Mayhew of Twysden QC

At 5.15pm: Rt Hon Lord Falconer of Thoroton QC, Secretary of State and Lord Chancellor, Department for Constitutional Affairs

A transcript of the session will be available (within 5 days) on the Reports and Publications page of the Committee's website:


1. The inquiry was launched on 21 December 2006 and the Committee has already taken evidence from Rt Hon Lord Goldsmith QC, Attorney General. The transcript of this session is available on the Committee website at

2. The full terms of reference for this inquiry are available on the Committee website at:

3. For further information please see the Committee's First Special of this Session at

4. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon Alan Beith MP (Chairman), David Howarth MP, Siân James MP, Mr Piara S Khabra MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Robert Neill MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP, Rt Hon Keith Vaz MP, Dr Alan Whitehead MP, Jeremy Wright MP

Further Information:

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer 020 7219 0724 email:

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email:

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Select Committee Calendar:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on