Constitutional Affairs Committee

Press notice
No. 36 of Session 2006-07
22 June 2007


Today, the Government has published its response to the Committee’s Third Report of Session 2006-07 Implementation of the Carter Review of Legal Aid.

Commenting on the Government’s response, the Chairman of the Committee, Rt Hon Alan Beith MP, said:

“The Government has still failed to recognise the fundamental flaws in its proposals for legal aid reform.

There is widespread concern at these proposals, not only in the legal profession, but also in the Not for Profit sector, which is reflected in the House of Commons.

I will be seeking to ensure that Parliament will debate these issues and the Government’s response as soon as possible.”

1. The Committee’s report Implementation of the Carter Review of Legal Aid and associated press notice can be found on the Committee’s website at

2. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon Alan Beith MP (Chairman), David Howarth MP, Siân James MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Robert Neill MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP, Rt Hon Keith Vaz MP, Dr Alan Whitehead MP, Jeremy Wright MP

Further Information:
Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer 020 7219 0724 email:

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email:

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Select Committee Calendar:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on