Chairman's Statement

Press notice

No. 34 of Session 2006-07
20 June 2007


Following the sad news that Mr Piara Khabra MP (Labour, Ealing Southall), Member of the Consitutional Affairs Committee, has died, the Rt Hon Alan Beith MP, Chairman of the Committee, made the following statement:

“Piara Khabra was a well liked and respected member of the Constitutional Affairs Committee who contributed valuably to its work, drawing on his own background, experience and deep knowledge of his own constituents and the wider Asian communities.”

1. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon Alan Beith MP (Chairman), David Howarth MP, Siân James MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Robert Neill MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP, Rt Hon Keith Vaz MP, Dr Alan Whitehead MP, Jeremy Wright MP

Further Information:
Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer 020 7219 0724 email:

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email:

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Select Committee Calendar:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on