Constitutional Affairs Committee

Press notice No. 20 of Session 2006-07, 29 March 2007


Freedom of Information

The Department of Constitutional Affairs has announced today (29th March) that there will be further opportunities to comment on the proposals to amend the Freedom of Information Act fee regulations. Responses to the consultation will be received until 21 June 2007.

The Right Hon Alan Beith MP, Chairman of the Constitutional Affairs Committee, said:

"There is very serious concern about the impact of these proposals on the working of the Freedom of Information Act, which my Committee has been monitoring closely.

I welcome the fact that there is further consideration of the principle of making these changes. The Committee will report on the proposals before the end of the consultation period."


1. Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer 020 7219 0724 email:

2. For previous press releases and reports on Freedom of Information, or for more information about the Committee, inquiries or publications, please see the Committee's website:

3. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon Alan Beith MP (Chairman), David Howarth MP, Siân James MP, Mr Piara S Khabra MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Robert Neill MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP, Rt Hon Keith Vaz MP, Dr Alan Whitehead MP, Jeremy Wright MP