Constitutional Affairs Committee

Press notice No. 27 of Session 2006-07

16 May 2007


Reflecting the expanded remit of the Committee following the establishment of the Ministry of Justice, the Constitutional Affairs Committee will continue with the inquiry started by the Home Affairs Committee Towards Effective Sentencing.  Further details will be announced in due course.

In order to assist with the Committee's expanded remit, the Constitutional Affairs Committee has decided to make use of informal Sub-Committees to examine some areas of its work.  The Committee has asked the first such Sub-Committee to work up to the end of July on matters relating to Judicial Appointments and Courts Administration, and the Sub-Committee meetings will be chaired by Rt Hon Keith Vaz MP.


1. For more information about the recent Machinery of Government changes go to

2. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon Alan Beith MP (Chairman), David Howarth MP, Siân James MP, Mr Piara S Khabra MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Robert Neill MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP, Rt Hon Keith Vaz MP, Dr Alan Whitehead MP, Jeremy Wright MP

Further Information:

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer 020 7219 0724 email:

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email:

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Select Committee Calendar:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on