Constitutional Affairs Committee

Press notice

No. 32 of Session 2006-07   13 June 2007


Operation of the Judicial Appointments Commission

The Committee will hold a follow up oral evidence session into the Operation of the Judicial Appointments Commission.

Details of the oral evidence session are as follows:

Wednesday 20 June in Committee Room 16, House of Commons

At 3.15pm: Clare Pelham, Chief Executive, Professor Dame Hazel Genn DBE, Commissioner and Sarah Nathan, Commissioner, Judicial Appointments Commission

At 4.00pm: Geoffrey Vos QC, Chairman, and Pamela Bhalla, Equality & Diversity Advisor, Bar Council; Alexandra Marks, Chairman of the Law Reform Board and Vicky Chapman, Head of Law Reform, The Law Society

A transcript of the session will be available (within 5 days) on the Reports and Publications page of the Committee’s website:

1. The Committee previously took evidence from the JAC on 20 March 2007. The transcript from that session can be found on the Committee’s website at:

2. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon Alan Beith MP (Chairman), David Howarth MP, Siân James MP, Mr Piara S Khabra MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Robert Neill MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP, Rt Hon Keith Vaz MP, Dr Alan Whitehead MP, Jeremy Wright MP

Further Information:
Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer 020 7219 0724 email:

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email:

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Select Committee Calendar:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on