Constitutional Affairs Committee

Press notice
No. 41 of Session 2006-07
11 July 2007


Ministry of Justice: Aims and Objectives

The Committee will hold a single oral evidence session into its inquiry Ministry of Justice: Aims and Objectives.

Details of the oral evidence session are as follows:

Tuesday 17 July in The Grimond Room, Portcullis House

At 4.15pm: Alex Allan, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Justice

A transcript of the session will be available (within 5 days) on the Reports and Publications page of the Committee's website:

1. The Department for Constitutional Affairs (DCA) ceased to exist on 9 May 2007, when the Machinery of Government changes resulted in the creation of a new Ministry of Justice (MoJ). The MoJ not only took over responsibilities from the DCA, but also from the National Offender Management Service and the Office for Criminal Justice Reform. Further details can be found on the MoJ's website at

2. The DCA Annual Report 2006/07 was presented to Parliament on 8 May 2007 and can be found online at:

3. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon Alan Beith MP (Chairman), David Howarth MP, Siân James MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Robert Neill MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP, Rt Hon Keith Vaz MP, Dr Alan Whitehead MP, Jeremy Wright MP

Further Information:
Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer 020 7219 0724 email:

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email:

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Select Committee Calendar:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).‚ Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on