Constitutional Affairs Committee

Press notice

No. 39 of Session 2006-07

2 July 2007


Towards Effective Sentencing

Due to unforeseen circumstances, tomorrow's evidence session for the Committee's inquiry Towards Effective Sentencing will now start at 4.35pm, and not at 4.15pm as previously announced.

Details of the oral evidence session are as follows:

Tuesday 3 July in The Grimond Room, Portcullis House

At 4.35pm: Christine Glenn, Parole Board; Simon Creighton; Paul Tidball, Prison Governors' Association; Colin Moses, Prison Officers' Association

At 5.15pm: Rt Hon Lord Phillips of Worth Matravers, Lord Chief Justice; Rt Hon Sir Igor Judge, President, Queen's Bench Division and Head of Criminal Justice

A transcript of the session will be available (within 5 days) on the Reports and Publications page of the Committee's website:

1. This is the fourth evidence session for this inquiry. The transcript from the previous sessions can be found on the Committee's website at:

2. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon Alan Beith MP (Chairman), David Howarth MP, Siân James MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Robert Neill MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP, Rt Hon Keith Vaz MP, Dr Alan Whitehead MP, Jeremy Wright MP

Further Information:
Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer 020 7219 0724 email:

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email:

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Select Committee Calendar:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on