Constitutional Affairs Committee

Press notice No.11 of Session 2005-06
19 December 2005


Compensation culture

The Constitutional Affairs Committee is to hold a further 3 evidence sessions in the New Year on its inquiry into 'Compensation culture'. The inquiry was announced on 3 November 2005 ( Press notice 7, Session 2005-06) and will focus on the following key questions:

»Does the 'compensation culture' exist?
»What has been the effect of the move to 'no-win no-fee' contingency fee agreements?
»Is the notion of a 'compensation culture' leading to unnecessary risk averseness in public bodies?
»Should firms which refer people, manage or advertise conditional fee agreements be subject to regulations?
»Should any changes be made to the current laws relating to negligence?

Details of the evidence sessions are as follows:

Tuesday 10 January 2006, The Grimond Room, Portcullis House
Association of British Insurers, Norwich Union and Allianz Cornhill
4.45pm Health and Safety Executive
5.45pm Volunteering England and the Scout Association

Tuesday 17 January 2006, The Grimond Room, Portcullis House
National Health Service Litigation Authority
Citizens Advice and the Advice Services Alliance

Tuesday 31 January 2006, The Grimond Room, Portcullis House
Baroness Ashton of Upholland, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Department for Constitutional Affairs and Rt Hon Jane Kennedy MP, Minister of State for Quality and Patient Safety, Department of Health

1. The terms of reference are available on the Committee's website ( Press notice 7, 3 November 2005)
2. The inquiry coincides with the introduction of the Compensation Bill and the NHS Redress Bill. Copies of the Bills are available on the Public Bills page of the TSO website: 
3. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon Alan Beith MP (Chairman), James Brokenshire MP, David Howarth MP, Barbara Keeley MP, Mr Piara S Khabra MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP, Keith Vaz MP, Dr Alan Whitehead MP, Jeremy Wright MP
4. Transcripts of all the Committee's public sessions are made available (usually within 5 working days) on the Reports and Publications page of the Committee's website: