Constitutional Affairs Committee

Press notice No. 34 of Session 2005-06
17 July 2006


The evidence session scheduled to take place at 4.30pm on Tuesday 18 July with Lynton Crosby, Director of the Conservative Party Election Campaign 2005 will not now take place.

However, the Committee will still hold an evidence session into the work of the Judicial Appointments Commission as previously announced ( Press Notice 32, 13 July 2006).

Details of the oral evidence session are as follows:

Tuesday 18 July, Committee Room 15, House Of Commons
Baroness Prashar CBE, Chairman, Rt Hon Lord Justice Auld, Vice-Chairman and Sara Nathan, Commissioner, Judicial Appointments Commission

A transcript of the session will be available (within 5 days) on the Reports and Publications page of the Committee's website:

Please note that Committee meeting times and locations can be liable to change at short notice. Up-to-date information is available from the Committee Office Recorded Information Line on 020 7219 2033.

1. The Judicial Appointments Commission (JAC) was created on 3 April 2006 as part of the reforms instituted by the Constitutional Reform Act 2005
2. Further information about the JAC can be found at:
3. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon Alan Beith MP (Chairman), James Brokenshire MP David Howarth MP, Ms Barbara Keeley MP, Mr Piara S Khabra MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP, Keith Vaz MP, Dr Alan Whitehead MP, Jeremy Wright MP