Constitutional Affairs Committee

Press notice No.20 of session 2005-06
17 March 2006

Asylum and Immigration Tribunal: the appeals process

The Constitutional Affairs Committee will hold a one-off evidence session into the work of the Asylum and Immigration Tribunal.

The Committee will focus in particular on the appeals process and key issues for consideration will be:

» the longstanding problem of backlogs in the asylum and immigration appeals system;

» the transition from a two tier to a single tier appeals process;

» the need for a universal file number for applicants;

» the impact of the changes in legal aid arrangements and the cost of unrepresented appellants;

» recent difficulties with judicial appointments;

» the potential impact of the new points based immigration system.

Details of the oral evidence session are as follows:

Tuesday 21 March, The Wilson Room, Portcullis House
Mr Justice Hodge OBE, President, Asylum and immigration Tribunal and Mr Justice Collins, Lead Judge, Administrative Court

A transcript of the session will be available (within 5 days) on the Reports and Publications page of the Committee's website:

1. The Committee's previous reports on Asylum and Immigration issues are:
» Legal aid: asylum appeals, Fifth Report of Session 2004-05, HC 276
» Asylum and Immigration Appeals, Second Report of Session 2003-04, HC 211
» Immigration and Asylum: the Government's proposed changes to publicly funded immigration and asylum work, Fourth Report of Session 2002-03, HC 1171
2. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon Alan Beith MP (Chairman), James Brokenshire MP David Howarth MP, Ms Barbara Keeley MP, Mr Piara S Khabra MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP, Keith Vaz MP, Dr Alan Whitehead MP, Jeremy Wright MP