Constitutional Affairs Committee

Press notice No.5 of session 2005-06
14 October 2005


Department for Constitutional Affairs: key policies and priorities

The Constitutional Affairs Committee will hold a one-off evidence session with the Secretary of State for Constitutional Affairs and Lord Chancellor. The session has been arranged to explore the Department's key priorities as set out in the document Making a Difference - Taking Forward Our Priorities, which was published in May 2005, after the General Election. The Committee will also consider matters of general policy and the functions of the DCA as a Department of State.

Details of the evidence session are as follows:

Tuesday 18 October, Committee Room 8, House of Commons

Rt Hon Lord Falconer of Thoroton QC, Secretary of State for Constitutional Affairs and Lord Chancellor and Alex Allan, Permanent Secretary, Department for Constitutional Affairs

Notes for editors:
1. Making a Difference - Taking Forward Our Priorities was published in May 2005 and is available on the Department for Constitutional Affairs website
2. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon Alan Beith MP (Chairman), James Brokenshire MP David Howarth MP, Ms Barbara Keeley MP, Mr Piara S Khabra MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP, Keith Vaz MP, Dr Alan Whitehead MP, Jeremy Wright MP
3. Transcripts of all the Committee's public sessions are made available (usually within 5 working days) on the Reports and Publications page of the Committee's website