Constitutional Affairs Committee

Press notice  No. 32 of Session 2005-06
13 July 2006


Judicial Appointments Commission

The Constitutional Affairs Committee will hold a one-off evidence session into the work of the Judicial Appointments Commission (JAC).

The Committee will hear from the Chairman, Vice-Chairman and a lay Commissioner about:

» the operation of the Commission

» arrangements and relationship with the Department for Constitutional Affairs

» staffing issues

» the selection and appointments process.

Details of the oral evidence session are as follows:

Tuesday 18 July, Committee Room 15, House Of Commons
Baroness Prashar CBE, Chairman, Rt Hon Lord Justice Auld, Vice-Chairman and Sara Nathan, Lay Commissioner, Judicial Appointments Commission

A transcript of the session will be available (within 5 days) on the Reports and Publications page of the Committee’s website:

1. The Judicial Appointments Commission (JAC) was created on 3 April 2006 as part of the reforms instituted by  the Constitutional Reform Act 2005
2. Further information about the JAC can be found at:
3. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon Alan Beith MP (Chairman), James Brokenshire MP David Howarth MP, Ms Barbara Keeley MP, Mr Piara S Khabra MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP, Keith Vaz MP, Dr Alan Whitehead MP, Jeremy Wright MP