Constitutional Affairs Committee

Press notice No. 28 of Session 2005-06
7 June 2006


Reform of the coroners system and death certification

The Constitutional Affairs Committee will hold three further public oral evidence sessions as part of its inquiry into the Reform of the coroners system and death certification.

Details of the evidence sessions are as follows:

Tuesday 13 June, The Grimond Room, Portcullis House
Coroners' Society of England and Wales
Association of Chief Police Officers; Local Government Association; Coroners' Officers Association and Society of Local Authority Chief Executives

Tuesday 20 June, The Grimond Room (tbc), Portcullis House
British Medical Association
Department of Health

Tuesday 27 June, The Grimond Room (tbc), Portcullis House
Victims Voice; NSPCC
Rt Hon Harriet Harman QC MP, Minister of State for Constitutional Affairs

Transcripts of the sessions will be available (usually within 5 days) on the Reports and Publications page of the Committee's website:

Please note that Committee meeting times and locations can be liable to change at short notice. Up-to-date information is available from the Committee Office Recorded Information Line on 020 7219 2033.

1. Coroner Reform: The Government's Draft Bill - Improving death investigation in England and Wales, Department for Constitutional Affairs, June 2006 ( Cm 6849).
2. The inquiry was announced on 20 January 2006 (Press notices 12) and the Committee has already taken oral evidence from Michael Burgess, HM Coroner for Surrey and Rt Hon Dame Janet Smith DBE on 7 February and from Tom Luce CB on 25 April.
3. Tom Luce CB was Chair of the Fundamental Review of Coroners Services. The report is available from the Official documents page of the Stationery Office website: Death Certification and Investigation in England, Wales and Northern Ireland, The Report of a Fundamental Review 2003
. Rt Hon Dame Janet Smith DBE, was Chairman of the Independent Public Inquiry into the issues arising from the case of Harold Frederick Shipman. The reports are available from the Inquiry website:
5. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon Alan Beith MP (Chairman), James Brokenshire MP David Howarth MP, Barbara Keeley MP, Mr Piara S Khabra MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP, Keith Vaz MP, Dr Alan Whitehead MP, Jeremy Wright