Committee on Members' Allowances: Press Notice

11 February 2009 Press Notice No. 1

Rt Hon Don Touhig MP elected as Chairman

The newly-appointed Committee on Members' Allowances met for the first time yesterday and unanimously elected Rt Hon Don Touhig MP as Chairman.

Notes for editors:

1. Mr Touhig declared that he had no interests which were required to be declared in accordance with the House's resolution of 13 July 1992.

2. The Committee was appointed under the standing order agreed by the House on 22 January. Its role is to advise the House of Commons Members Estimate Committee on the discharge of its functions; and to advise the Speaker, the Members Estimate Committee and the Leader of the House on the potential development of the arrangements made by or under the House's resolutions relating to Members' allowances.

3. The full membership of the Committee is:

Mr Don Touhig MP (Lab, Islwyn) Chairman , Liz Blackman MP (Lab, Erewash), Mr Alistair Carmichael MP (Lib Dem, Orkney and Shetland), Mr Nigel Dodds MP (DU, Belfast North), Mr Michael Jack MP (Con, Fylde), Mr Thomas McAvoy MP (Lab, Rutherglen and Hamilton West), Dan Norris MP (Lab, Wansdyke), Mr John Randall MP (Con, Uxbridge)

Media Enquiries: Liz Parratt. Tel 07917 488978,

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on