Joint Committee on the Draft Climate Change Bill

Press Notice No. 8, Session 2006-07


The Joint Committee on the Draft Climate Change Bill will be publishing its report on the 'Draft Climate Change Bill'(HC 542-I; HL 170-I) on Friday 3 August at 00.01am.

Embargoed copies of the Report will be available to witnesses and members of the press on Thursday 2 August at 11.00am from the reception desk, 7 Millbank SW1A 3JA. These must be requested in advance from the Committee Assistant (Tel: 020 7219 2398). Embargoed copies will also be placed in the Temporary Press Gallery, 6th Floor, 4 Millbank. Members of the press who wish to receive an electronic advance copy should contact Laura Kibby in the Media Office on 020 7219 0718.

Further copies may be obtained from the Stationery Office (Tel 0845 702 3474) and will be available on our website at the address below soon after


1. The two Houses of Parliament established a Joint Committee on the Draft Climate Change Bill to consider the draft Bill, and to report on it to both Houses. The Committee's inquiry proceeded in a similar way to other Select Committee inquiries and held hearings and received written evidence, producing a report and making recommendations to the Government.

2. Members of the Committee
Members of the House of Lords
Lord Puttnam (Chairman) (Labour), Baroness Billingham (Labour), Earl of Caithness (Conservative), Lord Crickhowell (Conservative), Lord Jay of Ewelme (Cross Bench), Lord May of Oxford (Cross Bench), Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer (Liberal Democrats), Earl of Selbourne (Conservative), Lord Teverson (Liberal Democrats). Lord Vinson (Conservative), Lord Whitty (Labour), Lord Woolmer of Leeds (Labour).
Members of the House of Commons
Ms Celia Barlow (Labour), Mr David Chaytor (Labour), Helen Goodman (Labour), Nia Griffith (Labour), David Howarth (Liberal Democrats), Mr Nick Hurd (Conservative), Mr David Kidney (Labour), Mark Lazarowicz (Labour Co-op), Mr Graham Stuart (Conservative), Dr Desmond Turner (Labour), Dr Alan Whitehead (Labour), Mr Tim Yeo (Conservative)

3. More information on the Committee's work can be found on the Committee's website

4. Media Enquiries: Laura Kibby, Tel: 020 7219 0718, Email

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on