Communities and Local Government Committee: Press Notice

Session 2008-09, 21 May 2009

Follow-Up oral evidence session

Follow-Up oral evidence session

Housing and the Credit Crunch

Follow Up Oral evidence session

Last autumn, the Communities and Local Government Committee undertook a brief inquiry into the Government's response to the effect of the "credit crunch" on its housing policies. Its report, which is available on the Committee's website:, was published on 24 February 2009.

The Government response was received in May as a command paper, available:

The Committee considered the likely effectiveness of the measures which the Department for Communities and Local Government is taking to deal with the credit crunch, with particular reference to:

  • achievement of the Government's housebuilding targets, both for market and for social housing;
  • the financial viability and ongoing business of housing associations; and
  • measures to help existing and prospective homeowners affected by the credit crunch.

It concluded that "The credit crunch is still evolving, and the impact it will have on the housing market in the coming months is not yet known. We intend to return to this subject later in 2009 to see how effective the Government's initial response has been."

The Committee has now decided to hold another oral evidence session to re-examine these issues. It has not invited further written submissions. Evidence will be heard from the following:

Monday 1 June 2009

4.30 pm

Council of Mortgage Lenders

  • Michael Coogan, Director General

National Housing Federation

  • David Orr, Chief Executive

Home Builders Federation

  • John Stewart, Director of Economic Affairs

Intermediary Mortgage Lenders Association

  • John Heron, Deputy Chairman, IMLA

5.30 pm

Communities and Local Government

  • Rt Hon Margaret Beckett MP, Minister for Housing
  • Richard McCarthy, Director General, Housing and Planning

Homes and Communities Agency

  • Sir Bob Kerslake, Chief Executive

Tenant Services Authority

  • Peter Marsh, Chief Executive

No further oral evidence sessions are planned.

The evidence sessions will take place in public, unless otherwise decided by the Committee, in a Committee Room at the House of Commons. All members of the public entering the Palace of Westminster are subject to security search, so please allow time for this.


Committee Membership is as follows: Dr Phyllis Starkey MP (Chair, Lab), Sir Paul Beresford MP (Con),

Mr Clive Betts MP (Lab), John Cummings MP (Lab), Andrew George (Lib Dem), Mr Greg Hands MP (Con), Anne Main MP (Con), Dr John Pugh MP (Lib Dem), Emily Thornberry MP (Lab), Neil Turner MP (Lab), David Wright MP (Lab).

Specific Committee Information: 020 7219 1353 or 020 7219 4972

Media Information: Hannah Pearce, 020 7219 8430

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on