Communities and Local Government Committee: Press Notice

Seesion 2008-09, 14 May 2009

Publication of Report

Publication of Report

Report publication: The Balance of Power: Central and Local Government

The Communities and Local Government Committee will publish its Sixth Report of Session 2008-09, The Balance of Power: Central and Local Government, on Wednesday 20 May 2009 at 00.01 am.

The Report will be available in the following ways:

Advance copies of the Report will be available under embargo in electronic format only on Monday 19 May from 11.00 am onwards to witnesses and media representatives. Printed copies of the report will be available under embargo on Tuesday 20 May from 11.00 am onwards to witnesses and media representatives.

We anticipate that the electronic copy of the report will be in excess of 1MB in size so it will be emailed ONLY on request. To receive an electronic embargoed copy of the Report on Monday

  • Those who gave written or oral evidence should email the Committee (, giving the name of the organisation you represent. Please entitle the email "Request for Balance of Power: Embargoed Report".
  • Members of the press should email the media officer

If you are a member of the press, to collect a printed embargoed copy of the Report on Tuesday from our offices at 7 Millbank, please telephone 020 7219 8430 or 4972. Embargoed copies will also be available in the Press Gallery.

If you gave evidence to the Committee you do not need to take any action to receive a printed copy in the post on Wednesday unless you wish to collect your copy from our offices on Tuesday. If you wish to do this, please telephone 020 7219 4972.

  • Copies of the Report may be obtained, on publication, from the usual outlets, including The Parliamentary Bookshop and The Stationery Office (reference: Sixth Report of the Committee, Session 2008-09, HC 33-I).
  • The Report will be posted on the internet at approximately 11.00 am on 20 May 2009, and will be accessible via the Committee's webpages.


Committee Membership is as follows: Dr Phyllis Starkey MP (Chair, Lab), Sir Paul Beresford MP (Con),

Mr Clive Betts MP (Lab), John Cummings MP (Lab), Andrew George (Lib Dem), Mr Greg Hands MP (Con), Anne Main MP (Con), Dr John Pugh MP (Lib Dem), Emily Thornberry MP (Lab), Neil Turner MP (Lab), David Wright MP (Lab).

Specific Committee Information: 020 7219 1353 or 020 7219 4972

Media Information: Hannah Pearce, 020 7219 8430

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on