Communities and Local Government Committee: press notice

Session 2008-09, 26 March 2009

Evidence Session

Evidence Session

Traditional Retail Markets

Oral evidence session

The Communities and Local Government Committee announced its decision to launch an inquiry into traditional retail markets in November 2008. The inquiry will consider covered and uncovered markets, including specialist markets (e.g. farmers markets) serving local people in English urban and rural towns and cities. Car-boot sales and markets whose customers are predominantly other professional traders are outside the scope of this inquiry. This the third oral evidence session.

Tuesday 31 March 2009

10.15 am

Michael Felton Associates

  • Michael Felton, Principal

Quarterbridge Project Management Ltd

  • Jonathan Owen, Director

10.45 am

St Albans District Council

  • Cllr Melvyn Teare, portfolio holder for Culture and Heritage

Bletchley and Fenny Stratford Town Council

  • Cllr Robin Bowen-Williams, Chair of Finance and General Purposes Committee

11.15 am

London Borough of Southwark

  • Stephen Douglass, Area Management and Engagement Manager

City of Westminster Council

  • Cllr Daniel Astaire, Cabinet Member for Community Protection

Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

  • Tot Brill, Executive Director for Transport, Environment and Leisure Services

The evidence session will take place in public, unless otherwise decided by the Committee, in a Committee Room at the House of Commons. All members of the public entering the Palace of Westminster are subject to security search, so please allow time for this.

Written evidence for this inquiry can be viewed on the Committee website.


Committee Membership is as follows: Dr Phyllis Starkey MP (Chair, Lab), Sir Paul Beresford MP (Con), Mr Clive Betts MP (Lab), John Cummings MP (Lab), Andrew George (Lib Dem), Mr Greg Hands MP (Con), Anne Main MP (Con), Dr John Pugh MP (Lib Dem), Emily Thornberry MP (Lab), Neil Turner MP (Lab), David Wright MP (Lab).

Specific Committee Information: 020 7219 1353 or 020 7219 4972

Media Information: Hannah Pearce, 020 7219 8430

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on