Commuinties and Local Government Committee: press notice

Session 2008-09, 19 March 2009

Visit and Evidence Session

Traditional Retail Markets Inquiry

MPs to visit Britain's favourite market

A cross-party parliamentary committee of MPs will be visiting Leicester on Tuesday 24 March.

During the visit the Communities and Local Government Select Committee will see Leicester Market (recently voted Britain's favourite market) and meet market traders, market organisers and local councillors. Later in the day, they will hold an oral evidence session in the Council Chamber of Leicester Town Hall for the following witnesses :

3.00 pm

  • Graham Wilson, Chief Executive National Association of British Market Authorities

3.30 pm

  • Chris Hurdman, Market Trader
  • Chris New, New Markets Solutions

4.00 pm

  • Tim Hirst, Assistant Director, Markets Service, City of Bradford Metropolitan Council
  • Malcolm Veigas, Assistant Director (Community Services) Bolton Metropolitan Council
  • Nick Rhodes, Head of Leicester Markets and Enterprise, Regeneration and Culture, Leicester City Council

The Communities and Local Government Committee would like to thank Leicester Council for hosting the visit. It is delighted to be able to engage with the public and conduct its business at a location away from Westminster, and hopes that events of this nature will make Parliamentary proceedings more accessible to members of the public.

The visit to Leicester is part of an inquiry launched by the Committee in November into Traditional Retail Markets (see press notice for further details). This inquiry is considering covered and uncovered markets, including specialist markets (e.g. farmers markets) serving local people in English urban and rural towns and cities. The Committee will consider traditional retail markets today, their social and economic effects, how best to realize the potential of traditional retail markets, and related planning and licensing issues. At the end of the inquiry the Committee will produce a report with recommendations to Government.

There will be opportunities for short interviews with the Chair as well as filming or photographs during the visit. To arrange this please contact the Media Officer (see details below).


Committee Membership is as follows: Dr Phyllis Starkey MP (Chair, Lab), Sir Paul Beresford MP (Con), Mr Clive Betts MP (Lab), John Cummings MP (Lab), Andrew George (Lib Dem), Mr Greg Hands MP (Con), Anne Main MP (Con), Dr John Pugh MP (Lib Dem), Emily Thornberry MP (Lab), Mr Neil Turner MP (Lab), David Wright MP (Lab).

Media Information: Hannah Pearce, 020 7219 8430

Specific Committee Information: 020 7219 4972

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on