Communities and Local Government Committee: Formal Minutes

Tuesday 4 July 2006

Dr Phyllis Starkey, in the Chair

Members present:

Mr Clive Betts

Lyn Brown

Mr John Cummings

Mr Greg Hands

Anne Main

Dr John Pugh

Alison Seabeck

Coastal Towns visit

Resolved, That the Committee visit Margate, Whitstable and Hastings, and Cumbria (with exact towns to be decided) in October in connection with the visit on Coastal Towns.

Oral Evidence Session for the Coastal Towns inquiry

Professor Steve Fothergill MA BPhil, Centre for Regional Economic and Social Research (CRESR), Sheffield Hallam University; 

James Hassett, Chief Executive, Market and Coastal Towns Association (MCTA);

Peter Hampson, Director, British Destinations and Resorts Association (BRADA);

Stefan Jankowski, Manager, and Nigel Bellamy, Deputy Chairman, Southport Partnership; and

Janet Waghorn, Chief Executive, and Paul Tipple, Chairman, East Kent Partnership; gave oral evidence.

 [Adjourned till Tuesday 11 July at twenty past Four o’clock.