Local Authority Investments

Oral evidence session

Monday 26 January 2009

4.40 pm Mike Weaver, President of the Society of County Treasurers

Peter Antill, Director of Resources, Tewkesbury Borough Council, representing the Society of District Council Treasurers

Alan Cross, Head of Finance, Reading Borough Council

5.10pm Mark Horsfield, Director, Arlingclose

Richard Dunlop, Director, Butlers

David Whelan, Managing Director, Sector Treasury Services

5.40pm Cllr Richard Kemp, Deputy Chair, Local Government Association

Cllr Merrick Cockell, Chairman, London Councils

The evidence session will take place in public, unless otherwise decided by the Committee, in a Committee Room at the House of Commons. All members of the public entering the Palace of Westminster are subject to security search, so please allow time for this.

Written evidence for this inquiry can be viewed on the Committee website.


Committee Membership is as follows: Dr Phyllis Starkey MP (Chair, Lab), Sir Paul Beresford MP (Con), Mr Clive Betts MP (Lab), John Cummings MP (Lab), Jim Dobbin MP (Lab/Co-op), Andrew George (Lib Dem), Mr Greg Hands MP (Con), Anne Main MP (Con), Mr Bill Olner MP (Lab), Dr John Pugh MP (Lib Dem), Emily Thornberry MP (Lab).

Specific Committee Information: 020 7219 1353 or 020 7219 4972

Media Information: Laura Kibby, 020 7219 0718

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on