The Balance of Power: Central and Local Government

Oral evidence session

Monday 08 December 2008

4.20 pm Professor George Jones OBE, Emeritus Professor of Government, London School of Economics

Professor John Stewart, Emeritus Professor of Local Government and Administration, The Institute of Local Government Studies, University of Birmingham

5.00pm Professor Vernon Bogdanor CBE, Professor of Government, Oxford University

Professor Tony Travers, Director of the Greater London Group, London School of Economics

5.40pm Rt Hon Lord Heseltine

6.00pm Rt Hon Nick Raynsford MP

Baroness Hamwee of Richmond upon Thames

The evidence session will take place in public, unless otherwise decided by the Committee, in a Committee Room at the House of Commons. All members of the public entering the Palace of Westminster are subject to security search, so please allow time for this.

Written evidence for this inquiry can be viewed on the Committee website.


Committee Membership is as follows: Dr Phyllis Starkey MP (Chair, Lab), Sir Paul Beresford MP (Con), Mr Clive Betts MP (Lab), John Cummings MP (Lab), Jim Dobbin MP (Lab/Co-op), Andrew George (Lib Dem), Mr Greg Hands MP (Con), Anne Main MP (Con), Mr Bill Olner MP (Lab), Dr John Pugh MP (Lib Dem), Emily Thornberry MP (Lab).

Specific Committee Information: 020 7219 1353 or 020 7219 4972

Media Information: Laura Kibby, 020 7219 0718

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on