Communities and Local Government Committee: Press Notice

The balance of power: central and local government

Oral evidence session

The Communities and Local Government Committee will be hearing evidence on Monday 23 June on the balance of power between central and local government.

The purpose of this session is to examine the issues and challenges facing local government in its relationship with central government. The types of topics that may be covered in the session include:

€ Progress in developing the relationship between central and local government since the Lyons Report.

€ The case for further devolution of power to local government.

€ Local government funding, including the appropriateness of current taxation arrangements, and the funding of new burdens on local government.

Monday 23 June 2008

4.40 pm Sir Michael Lyons, author of the Lyons Inquiry into Local Government, Place-shaping: a shared ambition for the future of local government.

5.25 pm Chris Leslie, Director, New Local Government Network, Janet Grauberg, Development Director, Public Management and Policy Association, James Morris, Chief Executive, Localis.

All times are approximate.

The evidence session will take place in public, unless otherwise decided by the Committee, in a Committee Room at the House of Commons. All members of the public entering the Palace of Westminster are subject to security search, so please allow time for this.


Committee Membership is as follows: Dr Phyllis Starkey MP (Chair, Lab), Sir Paul Beresford MP (Con), Mr Clive Betts MP (Lab), John Cummings MP (Lab), Jim Dobbin MP (Lab/Co-op), Andrew George (Lib Dem), Mr Greg Hands MP (Con), Anne Main MP (Con), Mr Bill Olner MP (Lab), Dr John Pugh MP (Lib Dem), Emily Thornberry MP (Lab).

Specific Committee Information: 020 7219 1353 or 020 7219 4972

Media Information: Laura Kibby, 020 7219 0718

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on