Communities and Local Government Committee: Press Notices

Session 2007-08   20 March 2008

Community Cohesion and Migration: Oral evidence session

The Communities and Local Government Committee will be hearing evidence for its inquiry into Community Cohesion and Migration on the following date:

Tuesday 1 April 2008 at 4.40 pm

4.40 pm Darra Singh, Chair,  The Commission on Integration and Cohesion

5.10 pm University and College Union - Sally Hunt, General Secretary     

Advisory Board on Naturalisation and Integration - Patrick Wintour, Acting Chair, and Bharti Patel, Secretary

5.40 pm Sarah Spencer CBE, Associate Director and Programme Head, Centre on Migration, Policy and Society (COMPAS)

Professor Richard Black, Sussex Centre for Migration Research, University of Sussex

All times are approximate.

The evidence session will take place in public, unless otherwise decided by the Committee, in a Committee Room at the House of Commons. All members of the public entering the Palace of Westminster are subject to security search, so please allow time for this.


Committee Membership is as follows: Dr Phyllis Starkey MP (Chair, Lab), Sir Paul Beresford MP (Con), Mr Clive Betts MP (Lab), John Cummings MP (Lab),  Jim Dobbin MP (Lab/Co-op),  Andrew George (Lib Dem), Mr Greg Hands MP (Con), Anne Main MP (Con), Mr Bill Olner MP (Lab), Dr John Pugh MP (Lib Dem), Emily Thornberry MP (Lab).

Specific Committee Information: 020 7219 1353 or 020 7219 4972

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on